Encyclopedia of Religion
and Society

William H. Swatos, Jr. Editor

Table of Contents | Cover Page  |  Editors  |  Contributors  |  Introduction  |  Web Version

(1911-1997) Harvard College, 1928-1932; Andover-Newton Theological School, 1934-1936. Sc.D., Meadville-Lombard Theological School, 1975; L.H.D., Rollins College, 1979. Professor Emeritus of Theology and Science, Meadville-Lombard Theological School; founding member of the Society for the Scientific Study of Religion (SSSR).

Burhoe was an advocate in the SSSR for including the natural, as well as the social, sciences in its purview. Failing in that endeavor, he created, in 1954, the Institute for Religion in the Age of Science (IRIS). In 1980, he was the first American recipient of the Templeton Prize for progress in religion. Founder of the journal Zygon , Burhoe served as its Editor from 1966 to 1979. In 1984, he was presented with the SSSR's first Distinguished Career Award.

Charles Y. Glock

return to Encyclopedia Table of Contents

Hartford Institute for Religion Research   hirr@hartsem.edu
Hartford Seminary, 77 Sherman Street, Hartford, CT 06105  860-509-9500