Encyclopedia of Religion
and Society

William H. Swatos, Jr. Editor

Table of Contents | Cover Page  |  Editors  |  Contributors  |  Introduction  |  Web Version


With the title "Sociology of Religion," this is one of the major networks linking scholars in this field at the international level. It was among the earliest research committees established in the context of the International Sociological Association, which was founded at a meeting held in Oslo, September 5-11, 1949.

Over the years, RC22 has organized various academic-scientific activities; these also have kept pace with the association's statutory development, which saw significant modifications in the quadrennia from 1970 to the present. It has organized various thematic sessions during World Congresses of Sociology (with a maximum of 16 at Bielefeld in 1994). The committee also organizes its own international conferences; among others should be noted the conference in Sofia, Bulgaria, August 2-7, 1992, on the subject "Nation-Building: Yesterday, Today, and Tomorrow," and in Rome, July 12-16, 1993, on the theme "Religions sans frontières? Present and Future Trends of Migration, Culture, and Communication."

The Committee has had its own annual bulletin since 1986, Sociology of Religion: Newsletter of I.S.A. Research Committee 22 . It contains information on forthcoming conferences, grants and awards, research funding, new publications, reports of meetings and activities, and other news and announcements. Editors have been Roberto Cipriani (1986-1990) and Raymond Lemieux (1990-1994). The editor for the period 1994-1998 is William E. Biernatzki.

The committee was established with the intent of opening a broader range of opportunities for participation in activities in the field of the sociology of religion. To this end, the committee undertakes measures to develop personal and institutional contacts, to encourage the international dissemination and exchange of information, and to promote international, cross-cultural research. The board of RC22 consists of a president, three vice-presidents, a secretary-treasurer, ten members, and three ex officio members (representatives of the Association for the Sociology of Religion, the International Society for the Sociology of Religion, and the Society for the Scientific Study of Religion). Every four years, at least half the board must be renewed. To enhance equitable representation of the various regions of the world, members of the board are elected from different continental areas: Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, Latin America, North America. The committee convenes every four years, during the World Congress of Sociology.

The most recent presidents of the Committee are Johannis (Hans) Mol (1974-1978), originally from the Netherlands; Karel Dobbelaere (1978-1982), from Belgium; James A. Beckford (1982-1986), from Great Britain; Nikos Kokosalakis (1986-1990), originally from Greece; Roberto Cipriani (1990-1994), from Italy; Raymond Lemieux (1994-1998), from Canada.

Roberto Cipriani


R. Cipriani, Religions sans frontières? (Rome: Presidenza del Consiglio dei Ministri, 1994).

return to Encyclopedia Table of Contents

Hartford Institute for Religion Research   hirr@hartsem.edu
Hartford Seminary, 77 Sherman Street, Hartford, CT 06105  860-509-9500